Sea`Gull

Jo Slater-Thomas art2arts.co.uk

Jo Slater-Thomas  art2arts.co.uk

To the west
vast expanses
of the sea

faint outlines
of the islands
on the horizon

too far to swim
I row instead
upon the air

my hands
now wings
without quills

my feet
now webbed
under down

my beak
pecked red
as by blood

by sunset
I will arrive
again on land

“I go to prove my soul!
I see my way as birds their trackless way.” ~ Robert Browning

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sea`Gull

  1. Talia Hardy says:

    Peter, was Browning’s quote the prompt for this poem?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ebbtide says:

    wonderful, wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

