On Winter

Steve Capiz betzgallery.com

Steve Capiz betzgallery.com

Winter is overwhelming
The long dark cold nights
Turning into dark gray days
So wet even without rain
Each step in thick slush

Temperamental thoughts
Drone dully in a dull brain
As if spelling out the crocus
Could make crocus appear
In the winter’s dirty snow

Smoke from the wood`fire
Goes white to gray to brown
To yellow before flame burst
So a season burns itself out
In a heat without warmth

“Winter is not a season, it’s an occupation.” ~ Sinclair Lewis

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Winter

  1. rivrvlogr says:

    Winters in Western New York had been rather light in the couple of years before I moved to mid-Missouri, so the typical on again/off again snow and cold snaps I moved to was an easy transition. Then in November of 2014, Buffalo was hit with a record snowfall of seven feet, just to show the people what can always be around the corner. When I saw that on the news, it confirmed for me tat I did not miss those winters.
    When I drove to Buffalo this week, I was one day behind a lake effect storm that had closed I-90 just west of Buffalo, and seeing trucks and cars still off the road and in the snow once again confirmed that I don’t miss it.
    There’s been a nice break in the weather, but, while I can choose to leave Buffalo either Sunday or Monday, a lake effect storm is predicted both days, and I would have to drive through it. That would be Western New York reminding me why I don’t miss its winters.

    Like

    • Spent the Christmas of 1962 snowed in at the Buffalo Greyhound Station on my way from The City where I was in school to Erie PA where my roommate’s family lived . . . A ‘religious’ experience of a sort . . . We don’t get that kind of weather here in western WA! But a lot of rain and fog and fog and rain . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sending you warm thoughts…

    Like

  3. Haven’t seen you for a while – hope you’re ok…

    Like

Leave a Reply

