Prayer Tree

Watanabe Seitei (渡辺省亭) pinterest.com

Watanabe Seitei (渡辺省亭) pinterest.com

We tie our prayers
pencil scribbled papers
folded once folded twice
tied in half`hitches onto
bare tree branches

We tie our prayers
folded once then twice
with words never spoken
but in the soul’s silence
trusted now to twigs

We tie our prayers
kites on invisible lines
sent flying heaven`ward
words paper scribbled
with stubs of pencils

We tie our prayers
to bare tree branches
until heaven’s own tears
turn carbon to carbon
remorse into regret

‘Til soon we forget
the mercy we pleaded
grace taken for granted
and with a new winter
We tie our prayers

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Prayer Tree

  1. one of your best…I know one country has prayer trees, and I’m trying to remember which one…

    Like

    • Thank you, Maureen . . . I grew up in Japan and I remember the ‘prayer trees’ at the temple; my brother says they were not prayers but ‘good luck’ wishes one bought from the Buddhist priest for the coming year . . . I prefer my version even if I may be wrong . . .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

