In Days of Distress

Jan Richardson paintedprayerbook.com

Jan Richardson paintedprayerbook.com

Once again
violence tears
at the fabric of community
   the many cower on the floor
   as the few tower above them
tactical vests & weaponry
husband`wife
terrorists

Our prayers
rise from carpets
where we lie in our terror
   afraid to get up & try to run
   afraid to lie still as tho dead
paralyzed by helplessness
un`understanding
our crimes

Most of us
will rise unbroken
seek means to forget fear
   the trauma now a shadow
   a nightmare but to dream
Some will have offered
our first our final
true prayer

“Hear my prayer, O Lord;
let my cry come to you.
Do not hide your face from me
in the day of my distress.
Incline your ear to me;
answer me speedily
in the day when I call.” ~ Psalm 102:1-2

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Days of Distress

  1. I still can’t find my own words…thanks for this

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rivrvlogr says:

    Well said, Peter.
    I cringe at the inspiration the news offers us these days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

