The Gift

Wassily Kandinsky kinderart.com

Wassily Kandinsky    kinderart.com

It was I think
the left thumb
he lost one day
using the power saw
I’d given for Christmas
He handled it like scissors
to trim the cedar board
held in his left hand
A careful man
in many ways
I would say

Most gifts
bear a cost
It is the nature
of an act of grace
the danger of receiving
I still remember the sting
watching his left thumb
slide so invisibly
along the fret
of the zither
as he’d play

“We forget all too soon the things
we thought we could never forget.” ~ Joan Didion

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Gift

Leave a Reply

