The Child in Me

Szilard Szanto   123rf.com

Szilard Szanto 123rf.com

The child in me
plays hide & seek
You count to a hundred
shout ready or not here I come
and he has disappeared
into the wrinkles
of the scenery

He is a squirrel
soaring in the tree
pretending he has wings
like the man flying the trapeze
who if he loses his grip
simply floats away
in dandelion mist

He is a seal pup
whose bobbing head
appears on harbor water
only to vanish before you can say
one two three you’re out
what you see is only
where he was

The child in me
gets lost & found
so many times he wears
a tattoo stitched to his right foot
If found please take me
home with you Or
to the local zoo

“The great thing about getting older is that
you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been.” ~ Madeleine L’Engle

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Child in Me

  1. you reached right into my own boyish spirit

    Like

  2. and the child in me still sometimes wants to be tucked up and read a bedtime story….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

