Being Good

Ian Fairweather pinterest.com

Ian Fairweather
pinterest.com

Comes a time
in a man’s life
when one’s too old
to consider being bad
An old man robs a bank
they come take him away
not to jail but a hospital
for a mental evaluation
Take no fingerprints
simply ask him for
his SS number

On the flip side
an old man finds
goodness no picnic
Watching every word
can wear an old man out
as not watching any skirt
will land him in the pen
since his wife doesn’t
think he’s truthful
since “Old men
are all lechers!”

So here I sit
waiting for a bus
to come haul me off
wherever it is they take
old men who don’t matter
Not really trying to be good
I’m just too damned tired
to work hard enough at
being as bad as I was
before I reformed
my ornery ways

” . . . To be good is the hurricane of caution.”
~ Jennifer Chang, Obedience

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being Good

  1. Maureen says:

    Rod wants to know which bus you’re catching – he’ll join you there…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talia Hardy says:

    Reblogged this on Linton’s Legacy. and commented:
    Clever and Skilful, Peter Notehelfer’s Poem Being Good raises many questions about the poet speaker. a must read and the clue is in the word Ornery, perhaps.

    Like

  3. Talia Hardy says:

    Have reblogged this Peter, such is my liking for your poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

