Seeing With My Ears

 Jeff Erickson jeffericksontheartist.com

Jeff Erickson
jeffericksontheartist.com

I’m just sitting here eating some buckwheat pancakes with an orange syrup contemplating the line from Stephen Kuusisto, a blind poet whose ears have come to serve as his eyes [along with his yellow lab] . . . I too must confess ‘I can’t tell what it means’, this incidental lyric that has caught my attention and that keeps me from hearing what you are saying . . . I guess it’s because what you’re saying I’ve heard before and it does not have the ‘ring of truth’ . . . I’m getting tired of repeating myself to others: ‘What was that you were saying?’ I must have said it a hundred times on my recent trip east of the mountains . . . If my friend asks following a conversation with another fisherman or the fish checker, ‘What was that he said?’ I have to confess, ‘I have no idea! I wasn’t listening!’ Instead I’ve been straining to hear the sound of the coyote moving stealthily through the corn field, or the wild turkeys gobbling somewhere across the river, to the whisper of the current which like the turning tide never stops moving . . . I count my own heartbeats without being conscious of it and then am embarrassed to admit that I’m listening to see if I’m still really alive . . . I listen to see if I can hear a shooting star before it flashes instantaneously across the evening sky . . . I listen for the sigh the fish makes when finally off the stringer the knife slips silently up through his belly and into his gills and the spirit that was in him is allowed to fly free . . . If you say I am not listening to you, you are right: I am instead listening for you . . . But when you pass you will no doubt not see or recognize me . . .

“As I get older the incidental lyric slips through the dark trees
but honestly I can’t tell what it means.” ~ Stephen Kuusisto

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeing With My Ears

  1. to those of us who hear with our eyes, your writings are precious gifts

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maureen says:

    no words – just love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

