Out of the Dailiness

Kurt Schwitters pinterest.com

Kurt Schwitters     pinterest.com

My life is an ordinary life
not because I had to settle for it
not having other options

After years of putting out
institutional fires I might have
chosen to be a consultant

I might have built an ark
like Noah who in his old age
set out to save humanity

But I give myself instead
to replacing washers on hoses
oiling screen door springs

The cucumber plants need
to be propped up to keep fruit
from getting blossom`rot

The bread`bowl cries out
for yeast & salt flour & olive oil
my hands itching to knead

In the ordinary things I find
the leavening of my inner`mind
In the kiln lies my creativity

“It is out of the dailiness of life that one is driven
into the deepest recesses of the self.” ~ Stanley Kunitz

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Out of the Dailiness

  1. resonates deeply with me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Morgan says:

    So true. So profound. So good!!!!

    Like

  3. Maureen says:

    good choice. I was feeling a bit down about my writing yesterday, but then got a phone call from my son with some good news about his life. Priorities

    Like

Leave a Reply

