I Am Twins, I Am

Dimitri Kozyrev artweek.la

Dimitri Kozyrev    artweek.la

  I am twins, I am
one brother named hope
the other one named fear
we live together in one room
we break bread from one loaf
sip wine of a common cup
live together in one skin
      We are one, I am

      I am hope, I am
the child of the sunrise
I awaken at the first light
to the sound of the songbird
the scent of flowers in the air
a mind aswirl with letters
of an alphabet of grace
      We are hope, I am

      I am fear, I am
the child of the low tide
where the belly of the sea
rises up to claim the shoreline
with a long kelp rope wrapped
like a tether round my heel
awaiting a pulling moon
      We are fear, I am

      I am twins, I am
one brother named hope
the other one named fear
we sleep together on one bed
beneath a comforter of down
mercy’s gift not our own
and dream in polarities
      We are one, I am

“I am so distant from the hope of myself “ ~ Mary Oliver

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Am Twins, I Am

  1. Sarah says:

    Interesting dualism

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    I’m hoping and praying for increased reconciliation… Well done on this. Neat breakdown, but I love how you never lost the sense of the two also being one.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Amy, for the comment. I appreciate it. I think all of life is struggling for the same thing for to be human is to be somehow inwardly conflicted, striving for the reconciliation you seek . . .

      Like

  3. Maureen says:

    you have spoken for many of us…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

