I Love the River

Jeanne Turner McBrayer allthingsquilty.blogspot.com

Jeanne Turner McBrayer allthingsquilty.blogspot.com

I love the River
when it rushes high
bearing fallen leaf to sea
melted snow`drops
up to the Cloud

I love the Dog
who wags his tail
licks my perspiring face
in encouragement
as I pull Weeds

I love the Brother
who owns my genes
yet believes my Politics
distorted at the core
worm`eaten center

I love the Sister
who sits as a stranger
awaiting food`bank doors
to open for sojourners
sleeping in parks

I love the Family
who keep me on task
the Wife by my right hand
the Children at my left
Grand`son in arms

I love the Papa`God
by whom I was created
filled with the Spirit of Life
to live not just for myself
but Neighbors’ good

I love the Master
whose yoke is Freedom
not from Love but for Love
The One who still calls
fishermen to follow

‘love is more thicker than forget
more thinner than recall
more seldom than a wave is wet
more frequent than to fail’ ~ e.e.cummings

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love the River

  1. kiwiskan says:

    and I love this post – love to you and your family

    Like

    • Thanks, Maureen . . . My wife & I were married on this day 46 years ago down in one of the suburbs outside Los Angeles: we took the day to spend time walking along the shore, leafing through a bookstore, having lunch at a sidewalk cafe, and topping it off with some delicious gelato which the Yellow Dog enjoyed as much as I did . . . A fine day!
      A fine life! Blessings . . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

