Mercy

Margareta Jungerth Boo artdoxa.com

Margareta Jungerth Boo artdoxa.com

The silence is a sheer mercy.
I have not spoken five words since arriving.
I do not miss the sound of voices,
not even the voices of those I love.
As for myself, I have nothing to say.
I listen with a conscious attentiveness.
What is it that I hear?
A lone duck flies northward,
the eerie squeak of its wings overhead
like an old hinge badly in need of oil
Along the beach, above the sound
of the constantly crashing surf,
the wind carries the squeal of a child
playing somewhere down the shore.
The same wind plays delicate chimes
on someone’s porch nearby.
The house has noises of its own.
The sounds are not all simple.
I hear the sound of my own heart.
The sound of my own breathing.
There is a ringing in my ears.
My stomach growls. My neck cracks.
I wonder, am I always this noisy?
Or am I simply getting old?
I try to listen without evaluation.
It’s said God’s voice is heard in sheer silence.
How will I hear it when it comes
if I cannot make sense of silence?
Silence is a mercy I must allow myself.
It is a severe mercy.

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mercy

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    within silence is the awareness of life’s little sounds
    the growling of a stomach is an awareness of a hunger for understanding
    the beating heart is in sync with Nature’s heartbeat…..
    the ringing of the ears, a reminder in the vibrations of beyond this moment of now
    the sound of breathing is the sound of being the flow of life
    the crack of neck, the stiffness that comes from not remembering to relax see within the unseen,and turn more often to feel the whispers upon the wind

    this is such an absorbing thought-filled poem…you have used gentle stokes of life’s colors
    to pause and listen to the hum of the winds whispers…
    I like this very much, a wonderful way to set the day :)
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    • Thank you Maryrose for your thoughtful comments. Silence, simplicity, serenity, all are hard for the stimulation`saturated culture in which we live . . . Is it any wonder God has gone missing? Appreciate your thoughts and encouragements . . . Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        You’re Welcome :)
        I think God is very much here, just waiting for more to remember …. :)
        I really enjoyed your thoughts , again Thank you for sharing them with us
        )0(
        maryrose

        Like

  2. kiwiskan says:

    love this… (and I struggle with those ringing ears as well)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

