The Soft Light of the Dawn

The soft light of the dawn
turns the harsh world so gently
The glare of sunlight off steel & glass
draws soul from spirit like steam from water
But in the first light all red is deep Blue dark
and you are young again & I am strong
and your breath is like the wind
upon the frond of the palm

At the acme of the day
I lie under the harsh light
rare roast beef with mayo on white
with just enough salt to make me salivate
And you come like a whisperer in silence
and speak my name Brush against
my resistance like the Nile
bursting Aswan’s dam

The cedar lies on the fir
unapologetically at first light
The snow-like madrona blossoms
fall at the feet of the humbly ancient salal
self-consciously crying Take me I’m yours!
While the petals of the red tulips
fall away merely one at a time
making way for the iris

The soft light of the dawn
turns the harsh world so gently
all self-differentiation disappears
the sea is of the mountain is of the sky
the deer is of the tree is of the woods
And we who walk into such light
mysteriously melt into each other
as God melds in the trinity

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Soft Light of the Dawn

  1. utterly captivating

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SalvaVenia says:

    Rememberances of the objectives beyond …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kiwiskan says:

    LOVE. Your poetry gets better and better…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many stunning lines….yet my favourite is “the sea is of the mountain is of the sky
    the deer is of the tree is of the woods”. Very nice, Peter!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    I love “your breath like wind upon the frond of the palm” and “we mysteriously melt into each other as God melds in the trinity.” Lovely; this poem breathes (oh, I hope you know what I mean!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

