Lent – Twenty` one

Moth Motherwell, family Abstract Expressionism, painting, framed ... www.flickr.com

Moth Motherwell  www.flickr.com

There are always two of us
that greet you in an encounter
The sentimental twin you see
The belligerent twin you sense
Like the ancients Jacob & Esau
we steer by different compasses
By subtle disguise Jacob suggests
By bold sincerity Esau pronounces
Unlike them we share a common host
Our competitions are deathly duels that
I should be either sinner OR saint
since being both is so self-inhibiting!
How can I give when he grasps?
How can I love when he lusts?
Even as I pray for her salvation
he fantasizes of her form & flower
The wine I buy for Sunday’s sacrament
he drinks to the dregs on Saturday night
Oh, that it were only that simple
I were the good and he were the evil
For suddenly he finds himself praying
And I lose my nobler self in amber ice
not to awaken from stupor for three days
during which time he has ignited a revival
The oddest thing is that we like each other
Sleep in the same bed with each other
Share the same shower shampoo towel
   He shaves my beard
   If I get nicked he bleeds
I met a Man yesterday down at the Water
He looked me directly in the eye and said
   You lucky boys!
   You’ve got it all!
There’s coyote blood in there I’ll bet

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

