Hearing Voices – Lent Eleven

Wassily Kandinsky  independent.co.uk

Wassily Kandinsky    independent.co.uk

Do you hear voices?
the doctor asked
And suddenly I felt stuck
knowing that to tell the truth
might well result in being
misunderstood
Knowing that to lie
would surely result in being
found out Yes I answered
I hear voices & I see visions
His pen scratched on the page
making the note
I closed my eyes
Immediately they were there
a thousand faces looking out at me
from the windows of a ten story
red brick apartment building
Peering out at me across the railings
of a thousand balconies on which
blood red geraniums bloomed
in their uniform plastic boxes
And the incessant ringing in my ears
slowed at their sight until it became
a single word That single word
spoken in a thousand languages
yet as if from one single mind
Spoken not as information
needing to be known but with
the passionate urgency of imperative
Go! [into the land I will show you]
And so it is unknowing and but
half`believing I go

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hearing Voices – Lent Eleven

  1. I had traveling on the mind, too

    Like

  2. kiwiskan says:

    keep walking that road… Love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

