Running with Horses

Laurie Pace paletteknifepainters.blogspot.com

Laurie Pace paletteknifepainters.blogspot.com

A man
who has run
with the horses
is never easily alone
the herd waries one
even as it wearies
drives one as
it is driven

We were
stallions then
manes flying wild
tails held aloft as we raced
among the brooding mares
seeding tomorrow
with our own
god-likeness

The herd
is scattered now
some to the pasture
some to the distant star
most stand along fence`
lines by themselves
reflective alone
in the rain

We walk
now Do not run
walk the perimeters
of both the spirit and the land
with heads held discretely low
with hearts humbled
ours now the grass
others the grain

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running with Horses

  1. markpeltonen says:

    Have you ever considered compiling a Poetry Book?

    Like

    • Yes, I have some books of poetry I’ve put together for family and friends but I am not interested in selling them since I consider writing poetry like making love: if you do it out of passion you’re called a lover; if you do it for money you’re considered a prostitute . . .
      If you’re interested in having one of those contact me by email and I’ll send you one . . .
      Blessings . . . peternotehelfer@gmail com

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Peter, It could be my moment, but I felt such melancholy when reading this… a sadness of sort that fits too well with my heart right now. Lovely!

    Like

  3. as for myself, I’ve graduated from whinny to whine

    Like

  4. barrira says:

    This makes me feel happy-sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

