A Hard Wind

Michel Keck  bestpaintingsforsale.com

Michel Keck bestpaintingsforsale.com

A hard wind
blows up-island
bending harder maples
whipping cedars into dance
the wild dance of childhood
which follows no rules
forgoes all grace
to simply whirl

Even the rain
frozen to slivers
neither snow nor sleet
is caught up in the mischief
swirling round in giant orbs
formed and reforming
into a living scrim
for the dancers

Only the music
made by the wind
on the reeds and strings
of the forest trees makes sense
A symphony for the lonely soul
who exchanging comforts
for experience dares
join the dance

So we walk
within the wind
heart soul hand in hand
along a path no longer a lane
toward the shifting landmarks
known but no longer seen
with faces stinging
fingers afire

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Hard Wind

  1. kiwiskan says:

    Your poetry often takes this form Peter – showing my ignorance, but does it have a name?

    Like

    • No, Maureen, it does not . . . It’s simply the way I see my poetry; occasionally I vary from it but always it returns . . . My brother says its a sign of my obsessive compulsive disorder which may be right. It bothers some people because it feels ‘forced’; but I don’t mind: I don’t really write for others or for publication but for myself and for those who seem to enjoy my blog . . . Thanks for asking though . . . Of course I’d love to hear any thoughts on the matter you might have . . . If you’d rather send an email that would be alright as well: peternotehelfer@gmail.com . . .

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

