Night`Ride

Nyoman Sundra www.pixoto.com

Nyoman Sundra http://www.pixoto.com

The oil
on the windshield
creates a kaleidoscope
in cataracted eyes
dilated

The lights
of oncoming cars
slivers of steel cold ice
Tail lights dragon`
breath fire

I travel
as if in dream
riding the Enterprise
at warp speed
among stars

She speaks
but I don’t hear
as if being transported
in time & space
into the void

Home again
I find no words
to say where I’ve been
as if out`of`body
I’ve seen God

“I write pieces, and move them around.
And the fun of it is watching the truthful parts
slide together. What is false won’t fit.” ~ Elizabeth Strout

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Night`Ride

  1. rozaliadame says:

    I enjoyed reading this a lot. The out of body experience as explained through a car ride home where his senses are heightened while still seeming unreal.

    Like

  2. I gave up night driving when the road lines multiplied

    Like

  3. kiwiskan says:

    love this – I have cataracts and you have expertly described that night driving experience

    Like

  4. ~meredith says:

    Incredible. I read this many times. Cat Stevens wrote a song, Moonshadow. In the song is this phrase: …and if I ever lose my eyes, if the colors all run dry… yes if I ever lose my eyes… I won’t have to cry no more ”
    I think the two of you said the same thing… and both ways are so moving I half wonder if the cataract gifts you with a greater sight. You poem is stunning to experience. Meredith

    Like

Leave a Reply

