The Tree

Rizwana A Mundewadi www.absolutearts.com

Rizwana A Mundewadi http://www.absolutearts.com

East`ward

down the long hill

toward the Tama`gawa

sits an ancient Shinto temple

I’d sometimes ride to the river

past that shrine But not often

for the hill was very steep

and my bicycle had

but one gear

 

A tree stood

on the grounds

Limbs without leaf

except for neatly folded

paper prayers Tied white bows

placed there as petitions

to their ancestors by

those who knew

no god

 

My God!

I thought How

we need those here

who like barren trees

hold still folded burdens

of our past & future

which we cannot

ever manage

or control

     I tie today upon your barren branch

     this white paper bow of my shame

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tree

  1. gloriously spiritual

    Like

Leave a Reply

