Pure As Silence

sagemountainstudio.blogspot.com

sagemountainstudio.blogspot.com

They came
A team in white
with faces of light
Slipped into my room
without a slightest sound
Stood by my bed around
touching white hands
in a circle of light
A team of white
come by night

In the silence
was their song
filled as only silence
appreciates pure grace
One unplugged my heart
One unplugged my brain
cables from mainframe
Drew life from lungs
emptied my song
to their silence

Lifting up arms
the team in white
with faces so light
encircling me round
lifted me out of the rest
stoney leg hollow chest
Naked I left the world
as naked I entered
only now as light
pure as silence

 

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pure As Silence

Leave a Reply

