The Inaccuracy of Words

 Autumn Sunrise From Signal Mountain fineartamerica.com


Autumn Sunrise From Signal Mountain fineartamerica.com

I love the inaccuracy of words
It leaves life open to interpretation
which after all conversation is about
A physicist captures truth in an equation
The poet must be content with ambiguity
I say they’re not very good company
The formula is an end of discussion
A poem an invitation to thought

The words I love are imprecise
solely because of life’s imprecision
You ask me ‘Did you see the sunrise?’
And I respond ‘Why yes! I saw the tree
step from the darkness at the first light
and with it incrementally the Island
until the world was bathed bronze
as though kissed by gods’ lips!’

And in your eyes I see doubt
that what I saw you somehow missed
Or a fear that the raft of Canada geese
you witnessed flying low along the shore
as sunlight broke over the Island’s ridge
was but a figment of your imagination
A thousand sunrises & we’ll never say
all that the sunrise really was!

“Sometimes there is a force of life like the spring which mysteriously
takes shape without your even having asked it to take shape , , , Being a poet
sometimes puts you at the mercy of life, and life is not always merciful.”

~James Wright

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Inaccuracy of Words

  1. kiwiskan says:

    beautiful, and so true

    Like

  2. best poetry I’ve read in weeks

    Like

Leave a Reply

