This I Believe

Nancy Farrell nancyfarrell.com

Nancy Farrell
nancyfarrell.com

Standing on the sandbar
I appear to walk on water
‘See’ they say ‘It is a miracle!’
but I know it is but an illusion
In time the river’s flow drops
Water that once elevated
covers an eroding shore

A river leaves its banks
that it may flow to the sea
In time a man must abandon
the delusions of old dogmatics
to leap afresh into the stream
which holds one certainty
Nothing at all is certain

All else is sheer idolatry:
the human desire to stand
upon truth’s stepping stones
when all we know is but sand
It is then the River whispers
‘Let go of what you know!
Your hope is in my flow!’

“If you set to work to believe everything,
you will tire out the believing-muscles of your mind,
and then you’ll be so weak you won’t be able
to believe the simplest true things.”
                                            ~ Lewis Carroll

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This I Believe

  1. Morgan says:

    A Beautiful Friday Inspiration :) Blessings for a Joy-Full week end ~

    Like

  2. The truths of life. I love all associated with water, and the visual this gave with each word was perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

