The Half of It

 Nancy Denommee www.ebsqart.com

Nancy Denommee http://www.ebsqart.com

Half of what

  we might say

     goes unsaid

       just as

     half of what

  we might do

goes undone 

    And why?

We all know

  someone’s 

     smoky eye

       just as

     we all keep

  a smoky eye

on some other

    That’s why

The cat’s claw

  is sheathed

     if she’s fed 

       just as

     the demon

  will be tamed

when he is loved

  That’s all

“She used to give me her smoky eye when I got boisterous,
so I learned to play on tip-toe & to play the better half of what I might . . .”
                                                                           ~ William Matthews

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Half of It

  1. I’m afraid I must leave loving demons to purer hearts

    Like

  2. ” the demon

    will be tamed

    when he is loved” Oh what a wonderful clever ending, Peter :) So true!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

