Beijing

Zao Wou-ki: www.cnn.com

Zao Wou-ki: http://www.cnn.com

Beijing

you shyly said

in immigrant English

after serving me the

Mongolian Beef

 

Did you

go to Beijing? 

No, I said, you are as

close to Beijing as I

have ever been!

 

Your eyes

looked suddenly

down as though I had

said something

too intimate

 

Tourists

know land`marks

without understanding

heart`marks learned

only in suffering

 

Our journey

into understanding

is more arduous & precious than

any discount Chinese lunch

and fortune`cookie line

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beijing

  1. redgladiola says:

    Perhaps not too intimate, but a pleasure to know you’ve helped someone experience something new. =)

    Like

    • Thank you, redgladiola, for taking a moment to comment on Beijing . . . Just read your Note to fellow poets on WordPress: the artists greatest enemy is self-doubt and the compulsion to compare his/her work with others . . . The gift of poetry is that it is uniquely our own: no one sees the world exactly like we do; and no one can describe that world we see better than we . . . May your discouragement be transformed into the encouragement I see has come from so many of your colleagues . . . Blessings . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. having been to Beijing on multiple occasions, I must admit I still don’t understand it very well – I’m sure it’s changed drastically since then, but it remains an enigma for me

    Like

  3. SalvaVenia says:

    Very true words, which you have penned down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

