Turn Over Any Stone

Monther Jawabreth dannawrites.com

Monther Jawabreth dannawrites.com

Turn over any stone

You’ll find a new world

Peer into the darkest night

You’re bound to see the light

Listen to each word I’ve spoken

You’ll hear a hundred left unsaid

Tell me of the thing you worship

I’ll know of all your other gods

Sketch for me your dream

I’ll tell you your regret

Turn over any stone 

 

Turn over any stone

You’ll see what has been

Study the rings of the tree

They’ll teach you its history

Follow the track of any wheel

It will lead where another went

Read the elegy upon the grave

You’ll see the business plan

Measure someone’s silence

You’ll know their wisdom

Turn over any stone

 

Turn over any stone

You’ll grasp a weapon

Gather up all the stones

They’ll become a memorial

The carbon that makes coal

Also makes the precious gem

Pan the pebbles of a stream

Gold hides within the slag

Pare an apple to its seed

There lies the orchard

Turn over any stone

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turn Over Any Stone

  1. Morgan says:

    Another very thought – provoking verse replete with vivid imagery :)

    Thank You for Being such a Blessing in my Life. I Truly Appreciate YOU ~

    Like

Leave a Reply

