Remember Me

I’m the leaf

of the alder tree

swaying in the wind

shaken but not yet fallen

Dream of every tree

since Eden’s

garden 

 

Watch me

if you’ve time

I move with a grace

unmatched  by human form

My green deeper than

the Leprechaun’s

clover

 

I’ll mesmerize

if you give me chance

Put you in a trance in fact

Melt the wires as it were that

hold you up in fact so tight

in this earthly dance

of propriety

 

Here today

gone tomorrow

Expendable I’d say

But while you are sleeping

I clean all your filters

Oh My! Don’t you

remember?

 

I’m the leaf

of the alder tree

Remember me

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Remember Me

  1. Morgan says:

    Thank You for Being a Blessing in my Life. I Appreciate YOU :)

    Like

    • Well, morgan morgan, I thank YOU for being so gracious in recognizing me! May the wind that lifts my kite lift you as well . . . Blessings . . .

      Like

    • I do not create; only God creates . . . The best I can do is imitate . . . This weekend being Pentecost, my wife’s been making kites for the sanctuary and for all the kids that come up for the children story; after the service we’ll go fly them in the church parking lot . . . They say that on that day ‘a mighty wind’ swept down and moved upon the people like it did at the Creation . . . The word for Spirit in both Hebrew & Greek is ‘wind’ . . . I just borrowed it from Genesis . . . You’re welcome to use it anytime . . .

      Like

  2. Beautiful. I love that this ends with Eden’s garden – it puts everything in perspective.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

