Eagle and Osprey

The eagle

chases the osprey

not two feet behind

but he cannot catch her

She deeks he dives she rises

And so on & on they go

across the long lake

and into the hills 

 

What is it

has so riled him

to burn that energy

knowing she’ll always

be lighter, faster, her tail

the GPS tells her what

he’ll do next where

exactly to turn

and when

 

It was Eve

ate the apple

And Adam’s been

following ever since

Almost! Almost! But not

quite Tonight I saw

him ask her Do you

want me now?

She rose

 

just then

to his hard fall

The two fell as one

and in the moment

were gone

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eagle and Osprey

  1. Morgan says:

    Very Lovely :) They are so marvelous to watch :)

    Like

  2. not to suggest that women are unpredictable

    Like

  3. Beautiful last stance. The two fell as one is my favorite line.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Thank you, Alice . . . Interesting: this poem is an account of an actual experience I had while out fishing on a nearby lake on which eagles & osprey are frequent sights . . . Sometimes we cannot make up things more marvelous than what we see with our own eyes . . . I think you know that . . .

      Like

  4. SalvaVenia says:

    Danke für diese wunderbaren Zeilen.

    Like

    • Sie sind ja Herzlich Willkomen . . . [Ich habe doch keine ahnung ob das richtig ist. Meine eltern warren aus Deutchland – mein vater von Muenchen, meine mutter von Ulm; aber Ich habe nicht Deutch studiert. Ich weis nur die lieder von Schumann, Schubert, Strauss und Hugo Wolf . . . Die sind ja wunderbar . . . Vergieb mir meine suenden . . .

      Like

      • SalvaVenia says:

        Thank you so much for your kind accommodation. Its really great you still remember all those classicals. I just commented in German because I thought you might be happy about it. :)

        Like

  5. You were right, of course! I was delighted! Although I am embarrassed by my poor grammar and spelling . . . About the classics: I have all the FIscher-Diskau recordings on vinyl: he sounds as good today when I listen to him as he did in the early 60s . . . You’re probably far to young to remember those days . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

