I Was a Chi-Chi Baby

I was a Chi-Chi baby

That is ‘Not Bottle-Fed’

and I’ve never ever gotten past it 

There’s just something about a breast!

Mama nursed me until I was two

Ahead of her time she was

No spinal-block for her

 

The fashion of the day

is thin & flat upfront behind

Only exceptions are the expectant

who wear their middles like trophies

nurse as a statement of femininity

and pump as a way to insure

an uninterrupted leisure

 

I declare June Breast Month!

What better than to celebrate

the gift that those who have resent

and that those who don’t have covet

We are such People! Are we not?

I mean really! All our recessions

our projections ill-proportioned

 

And it’s our mothers’ faults!

Or at least so says Sigmund Freud

I think rather that it’s what we hide

[the mystery we project on each other]

that calculably raises the mercury

in old-fashioned thermometers

Blows all our breakers!

 

A Chi-Chi baby knows these things you see!

A Bottle-Fed boy, now, he’s simply a lecher!

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Was a Chi-Chi Baby

  1. ha ha – the la leche league would approve, I think

    Like

Leave a Reply

