Leaving

Leaving

I’ve spent my life

leaving loves hard won

Forever closing out accounts

the credit of which I never used

You are surprised, are you?

You whom I’ve left & left

And still you bill me

a service fee! 

 

Really!

Was a time

when my attention

raised your lips your hips

Glory! I do swear I remember

you welcomed me a friend

after April left for a buff

mountaineer

in spandex

 

What can I say?

As a month you suck!

May after all is so polite

May-Poles & Mother’s Days

And here I am holding the tape

as the ship pulls from shore

waving like a damn fool

at a girl in a see-thru

white blouse

 

‘But you can’t look back when you’re moving on

No you can’t look back buddy you gotta go & sing your song’

                [lyrics of the song by that title by singer John Stewart]

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leaving

  1. I love this. It’s wound with such practicality.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Thank you, Alice . . . Glad you ‘tracked’ with me since a lot of folks have no idea whatsoever what this poem is about . . . Ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

