When the Blossom Falls

When the blossom falls

you know that spring is done

It is then you expect the fruit to set

given the passion of the bees

Time tells all our secrets 

 

We’re ornamental trees

with these delicious blossoms

All leg & breast Lean & so robust

Yet our nectar bee-sucked

has made but mere honey

 

The vas-is-all-sected

The  histor-all-ectomed

We’re erotic now with no effect

aroused without an issue

but the garden party

 

When the blossom falls

you know that spring is done

I drink now rather than remember

the silken passages of autumn

when maple leaves fell

 

We were young then

You were ample & I bold

as upon my beam you rocked

sheets unfurled to wind

your rudder my course

 

And now we’re old

Teat-dried Beam-flaccid

I tell you of morning flowers

You tell me of your friends

neutered by time

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

