Sadness Calls

Sadness calls

without appointment

The inconvenient visitor

The cousin of happiness from out of state

just passing through & wanting to connect

‘It’s been far far too long’

she says ‘since we had

a good cry!’ 

 

We’re related

on my mother’s side

In mid-life Mama invited

both cousins to live within her house

I do believe they even shared a room

and she spent much time

at reconciliation

 

I still remember her

at her cherry-wood desk

basking in a soft May sunlight

fountain pen & tablet at hand writing

long letter to friends & relatives she’d

not seen for many decades

She spoke as she wrote

of joy & of pain

 

Early in my life

I asked sadness to leave

My heart was simply too small

to accommodate so many relatives

One day I found their bags packed

their walls bare & room clean

I drove them to their train

They travel together

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sadness Calls

  1. thank God they were polite enough to honor your request

    Like

  2. There is joy in pain sometimes. Nicely written.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

