The Fifth Liturgical Hour ~ Sext

Bless, Lord

these gifts we receive

from your gracious hand

Bread we have not kneaded

Wine we have not pressed

Aged cheese and sausage

Sun`ripened fruit 

 

Bless, Lord,

the friends seated here

the too`easily like`minded

the over`eagerly light`hearted

the fearfully dark, discouraged

those present yet absent

those absent tho here

 

In my refection

this time of refreshment

Of renewal of body`mind`spirit

give me  grace to remember

that I work in order

to love, not live

to work

 

I smell the bread

Touch and hear the wine

Hold this holy communion

with those who grace my life

Weep into their laughter

Smile into their pain

Taste the Christ

 

Bless, Lord, the home

there is at every mid`day table

where beneath the simplest fare

beyond the gentlest words we share

we partake of a heavenly feast

the world cannot afford

or comprehend

 [Prayers for the Hours of the Liturgical Day]

About Peter Notehelfer

I'm a retired people person who now finds the time to watch the little details of the world without worrying about being watched by anyone . . . I live on an Island north of Seattle with my wife named Ellen, a yellow dog named McGee, a yellow cat named Gatzby, and four fine chickens . . . I read fiction, bake bread, smoke salmon, and fish whenever the weather allows . . . Oh, and yes, I try to write a poem every day simply to avoid senility!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

